A LETTER FROM FORMER STATE ATTORNEYS GENERAL IN SUPPORT OF THE NOMINATION OF PAMELA JO BONDI FOR UNITED STATES ATTORNEY GENERAL

January 7, 2025

The Honorable John Thune
Senate Majority Leader
U.S. Senate
511 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
Sent via email to: jessica mcbride@thune.senate.gov

The Honorable Chuck Schumer
Senate Minority Leader
U.S. Senate
322 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
Sent via email to: meghan_taira@schumer.senate.gov

The Honorable John Barrasso
Senate Majority Whip
U.S. Senate
307 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
Sent via email to: amber_bland@barrasso.senate.gov

The Honorable Dick Durbin
Senate Minority Whip
U.S. Senate
711 Hart Senate Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
Sent via email to: katrina_petrone@durbin.senate.gov

The Honorable Chuck Grassley
Chairman, Senate Judiciary Committee
U.S. Senate
135 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
Sent via email to: james_rice@grassley.senate.gov

Dear Leader Thune, Leader Schumer, Senator Barrasso, Senator Durbin, and Senator Grassley,

We write as Former State Attorneys General in support of your confirmation of Former Florida State Attorney General Pamela Jo Bondi as the 87th United States Attorney General. Many

of us have worked directly with Attorney General Bondi and have firsthand knowledge of her fitness for the office. We believe that her wealth of prosecutorial experience and commitment to public service make General Bondi a highly qualified nominee for Attorney General of the United States.

General Bondi demonstrated her unwavering commitment to public safety and enforcing the rule of law during her eighteen years as a state prosecutor. She tried numerous cases, ranging from domestic violence to homicide. During her subsequent tenure as Florida Attorney General from 2011 to 2019, General Bondi proved her dedication to protecting Floridians. She served with distinction as the state's top consumer protection and law enforcement official. She took on mortgage fraudsters and was a national leader in battling the opioid crisis. General Bondi developed her skills as a prosecutor and put those skills to work as Attorney General, protecting children, combatting gangs, and litigating criminal appeals for her state.

General Bondi has an excellent reputation nationally for working across both state and party lines to solve problems and work cooperatively for the benefit of her constituents. General Bondi was and remains a valued and respected member of the State Attorney General community. Thus, we are confident that she will serve with distinction as United States Attorney General.

The Society of Attorneys General Emeritus (SAGE) is a nonpartisan organization that does not formally endorse any political candidate or nominee, nor does SAGE take political positions on issues. We leave those actions to individual SAGE members to decide for themselves. Thus, we, the undersigned Former State Attorneys General, offer our support for Pam Bondi in our individual capacities, and we thank you for your consideration of our support for her confirmation to serve as the next United States Attorney General.

Sincerely,

Dustin McDaniel Co-Chair, SAGE Former Arkansas Attorney General (2007 – 2015)

Jon Bruning Co-Chair, SAGE Former Nebraska Attorney General (2003 – 2015)

Robert Abrams Former New York Attorney General (1979 – 1993)

Thurbert Baker Former Georgia Attorney General (1997 – 2011)

Bill Baxley Former Alabama Attorney General (1971 – 1979) Former Alabama Lieutenant Governor (1983 – 1987) Mike Beebe

Former Arkansas Attorney General (2003 – 2007)

Former Arkansas Governor (2007 – 2015)

M. Jane Brady

Former Delaware Attorney General (1995 – 2005)

Bob Butterworth

Former Florida Attorney General (1987 – 2002)

Steve Carter

Former Indiana Attorney General (2001 – 2009)

Charlie Condon

Former South Carolina Attorney General

(1995 - 2003)

Jack Conway

Former Kentucky Attorney General (2008 – 2016)

Tom Corbett

Former Pennsylvania Attorney General (2005 – 2011)

Former Pennsylvania Governor (2011 – 2015)

Michael A. Cox

Former Michigan Attorney General (2003 – 2011)

Frankie Sue Del Papa

Former Nevada Attorney General (1991 – 2003)

Mike DeWine

Former Ohio Attorney General (2011 – 2019)

Ohio Governor (2019 – Present)

Richard E. Doran

Former Florida Attorney General (2002 – 2003)

Rufus Edmisten

Former North Carolina Attorney General

(1974 - 1984)

Timothy C. Fox

Former Montana Attorney General (2013 – 2021)

Jose Fuentes

Former Puerto Rico Attorney General (1997 – 1999)

Douglas Gansler

Former Maryland Attorney General (2007 – 2015)

Chris Gorman

Former Kentucky Attorney General (1992 – 1996)

Peter Harvey

Former New Jersey Attorney General (2003 – 2006)

Peter Heed

Former New Hampshire Attorney General (2003 – 2004)

Jim Hood

Former Mississippi Attorney General (2004 – 2020)

Judith Williams Jagdmann

Former Virginia Attorney General (2005 – 2006)

Andrew Ketterer

Former Maine Attorney General (1995 – 2001)

Jerry Kilgore

Former Virginia Attorney General (2002 – 2005)

Troy King

Former Alabama Attorney General (2004 – 2011)

Chris Koster

Former Missouri Attorney General (2009 – 2017)

Dave Leroy

Former Idaho Attorney General (1979 – 1983)

Former Idaho Lieutenant Governor (1983 – 1987)

Michael A. Lilly

Former Hawaii Attorney General (1984 – 1985)

Jahna Lindemuth

Former Alaska Attorney General (2016 – 2018)

Robert F. List

Former Nevada Attorney General (1971 – 1979)

Former Nevada Governor (1979 – 1983)

Patrick C. Lynch

Former Rhode Island Attorney General (2003 – 2011)

Lisa Madigan

Former Illinois Attorney General (2003 – 2019)

Bill McCollum

Former Florida Attorney General (2007 - 2011)Former Member, U.S. House of Representatives (1981 - 2001)

Robert McDonnell

Former Virginia Attorney General (2006 – 2009) Former Virginia Governor (2010 – 2014)

Rob McKenna

Former Washington Attorney General (2005 – 2013)

Betty Montgomery

Former Ohio Attorney General (1995 – 2003)

Mike Moore

Former Mississippi Attorney General (1988 – 2004)

Gale Norton

Former Colorado Attorney General (1991 – 1999) Former Secretary, U.S. Department of the Interior (2001 – 2006)

Doug Peterson

Former Nebraska Attorney General (2015 – 2023)

Christopher Porrino

Former New Jersey Attorney General (2016 – 2018)

Ernie Preate

Former Pennsylvania Attorney General (1989 – 1995)

Clarine Nardi Riddle

Former Connecticut Attorney General (1989 – 1991)

Leslie Rutledge

Former Arkansas Attorney General (2015 – 2023) Arkansas Lieutenant Governor (2023 – Present) Derek Schmidt

Former Kansas Attorney General (2011 – 2023) Member, U.S. House of Representatives (2025 – Present)

William J. Schneider

Former Maine Attorney General (2011 – 2013)

Bill Schuette

Former Michigan Attorney General (2011 - 2019)Former Member, U.S. House of Representatives (1985 - 1991)

Mark Shurtleff

Former Utah Attorney General (2001 - 2013)

Herbert Slatery

Former Tennessee Attorney General (2014 – 2022)

James C. Smith

Former Florida Attorney General (1979 – 1987)

Luther Strange

Former Alabama Attorney General (2011 – 2017) Former U.S. Senator (2017 – 2018)

Hal Stratton

Former New Mexico Attorney General (1987 – 1991) Former Chairman, U.S. Consumer Products Safety Commission (2002 – 2006)

Paul G. Summers

Former Tennessee Attorney General (1999 – 2006)

John Suthers

Former Colorado Attorney General (2005 – 2015)

John Swallow

Former Utah Attorney General (2013)

Michael C. Turpen

Former Oklahoma Attorney General (1983 – 1987)

J.B. Van Hollen

Former Wisconsin Attorney General (2007 – 2015)

Lawrence Wasden Former Idaho Attorney General (2003 – 2023)

LeRoy S. Zimmerman Former Pennsylvania Attorney General (1981 – 1989)

Greg Zoeller Former Indiana Attorney General (2009 – 2017)